Sunday Morning Bible Study...
 Join us from 10:30 – 11:15am (following the 9am
 service), Located in the Leadership Room (next to
 the office) for a weekly 45 minute Bible study taught
 by Renee Bennett.

Renee has taught our church’s confirmation class for several years along with hosting in-home bible studies and has a comprehensive knowledge of the bible which she loves to share. She would like to welcome everyone to attend this study, conveniently scheduled following the 9am service! Contact Renee Bennett for more information.

  Adult Forum...
 Join us on Wednesday nights as part of our WOW! The
 Word on Wednesday
program. Dinner is served at 5:30pm.
 SOMETHING FOR ALL AGES: 6-7:30PM!


Join Pastor Dennis who continues teaching an 8 week class on Revelation. The class includes a background on the period in which Revelation was written; the meaning of the symbolism in the book; as well as the fear of the early church about the possible misuse of this most unusual book in the New Testament. We hope you can join us for a cup of coffee, a treat, and an inspirational and informative study.
When: Wednesday evenings, 6:00pm Where: Fellowship Hall
(WOW children’s program and childcare available in the COC through May 17th)

  

  Mondays


Join Pastor Ken on Monday mornings at 10am in the Fellowship Hall for an enlightening journey through the Old Testament. We are using the book “Path Through Scripture” by Mark Link. Location: Fellowship Hall (Childcare not provided)



   Kevin Saunders The Bible Between The Lines...
   The Bible Between The Lines meets Tuesdays
   from 10 –11:30am in the COC.


Summer Session Tuesdays August 1, 8, 15 & 22, 10 am – Noon
There are many approaches to studying the Bible and all of them offer valuable insights in understanding the sacred text. The Arizona Bible Class draws on insights gleaned from the study of Historical Geography and Middle Eastern culture to inform the systematic study of the Bible in each of its classes. Kevin Saunders is a Bible teacher. Kevin brings his gifts as knowledge of the Bible and its cultural world to life in his classes. Arizona Bible Class students can (and do!) study every book in the Bible, page by page, chapter by chapter, verse by verse, in a lecture based format lasting an hour and a half each session.Questions? Contact Walt at  .
^


 F.A.B.
 Our Friends and Believers Boomers group has a lot of fun doing    various events throughout the year. Join us!

Upcoming Events:

Light Rail at Mesa & Main arrive at 3:15 pm to take 3:30 pm trip. Dinner reservation made for 4 pm in their outside covered patio. Sign up now! Cutoff date for signups is May 14th
Contact Katrina for more information at   
Watch for info on “Restaurant Dinners Out” during the summer!!!

^


 
  People on the Go!
  Come and join us! All are  welcome!


We are people that have fun, we love to meet new people and make new friends. We enjoy attending a variety of events e.g. plays, information sessions on a variety of topics, museums, tours etc...

Upcoming Events...We enjoy attending a variety of events! We are open to any suggestions that anyone has for upcoming events. We also welcome any help in planning for events! The more ideas and more people involved equal more fun and fellowship. Any questions, comments or suggestions you can contact Dianne Oien at or 480-981-6199 x15 or Barb Weldon at .

Summer Break! We will be taking a break for the summer months (unless someone wants to call me to help set up an event)….I would be more than happy to work with you! I am always looking for something new to do!

Alzheimer’s Support Group...
If you are a caregiver for an Alzheimer’s patient you’re all too familiar with the frustration and heartache that come from trying to stir the memory of someone you love. But when you attend an Alzheimer’s Support Group, you can discuss the challenges you face, meet others with similar experiences, and find solutions that can improve the quality of life for you and your loved one. Contact Brookdale Senior Living Solutions at 480-832-1300 for more information.
Questions? Contact Dianne at .
^

  MEN'S MINISTRY

 

 

 


Men's Breakfast
...
Join us for good conversation and great food the 3rd Saturday of the month from 7:30-9am, in the Fellowship Hall.

COOL EVENING CREW...
Men are invited to join us Monday nights... 6:30-8pm in the Leadership Center. Contact Walter at .

Men Connecting to the Word...
Thursday Bible Study at 6:30-7:30 AM...join other men of the congregation for a morning devotion, a little coffee and some breakfast (optional) at Village Inn on Recker Rd and McKellips.Contact Pastor Joe at .

MEN’S RETREAT JULY 21-23

Theme: “A Band of Brothers”

We will be going back up to Dave Spice’s cabin in the cool pines of Heber, AZ.  

Bible study based on the book written by John Eldredge

Wild at Heart.  Please sign up on Sundays at the ministry tables.

Approx. cost $70


^

 

 WOMEN'S MINISTRY



Women of the ELCA
...

“All Anew”...Plan now to attend the 10th Triennial Gathering of the Women of the ELCA from July 13th - 16th, 2017 at Minneapolis, Minnesota.  Join women from all over the world coming together in community to rejoice, to serve and to witness how to carry out our mission of mobilizing women to act boldly on our faith in Jesus Christ.  Daughters and Grand-daughters are encouraged to attend. For more information, check out the website - welcatg.org  If you would like a registration booklet, call Pat Shaw at 981-1325.

Subscribe to “Gather Magazine”...
The magazine of Women of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America — guides you as you live and experience your faith every day. It offers a mix of articles, theological reflections, devotions, and stories of comfort and challenge that help readers grow in faith and engage in ministry and action. Gather is published 10 times a year with combined issues in January/February and July/August. It’s only $15 a year. – Subscribe online at: www.gathermagazine.org.

Naomi Circle...
They meet the 2nd Monday of the month September—May. 


Crafting & Chatting Women of LOC...
We welcome all Ladies/their friends for our Sunday afternoons. Meets throughout the Summer. We have become a “Sisterhood” and support many projects in the church, in the community and enjoy our times together with work and laughter. We craft, chat, coupon, chat, crochet, chat, knit, scrapbook and a whole lot more!!!
The Chatting and Crafting women are doing two large projects. They are called Blessing Bags and Blessing Boxes. The Blessing Bags are filled with personal items for a homeless person to use for an evening. The Blessing Boxes are for foster children. LSMS will distribute them.
Children often have to leave their homes with no notice. These boxes have personal items such as storybooks and stuffed animals to love.
We need help for both of these projects. Any donations will be appreciated. Contacts are: Karen Wenzel 480.890.8692, Karla Harvey 480.262.7666 or Barbie Berry 602.705.3139


Care, Share and Prayer Women's weekly Bible Study...
Women’s Bible Study— Join with other LOC women for a bible study group Thursdays at 1:00pm in the Leadership room (next to the office). Meets 2nd and 4th Thursdays June through August. Contact Alice Lacey at 480-641-0021 with questions.

Ladies Night...
You are invited to join the ladies of the church as we get together for dinner, dessert and fellowship. We meet monthly as part of WOW, The Word on Wednesdays and will either have a speaker, do a fun and easy craft or play fun games like Bingo or Bunco.

Women's Hiking Group...

Our Annual “It’s Time To Get Out of the Heat” Weekend Adventure: On June 17 and 18, the LOC Women’s Hiking Group will be traveling to Mount Graham , driving up the Swift Trail and stopping for short, easy hikes on the way to Webb Peak Fire Lookout Tower at the top. We will stay in Safford. Cost - $100 and includes hotel and carpooling cost.

On July 29th, the LOC Women’s Hiking Group will be traveling to Flagstaff, hiking the 4 mile total Prime & Vail Lakes Loop Trail. This trail is a nice, easy loop that goes to both lakes plus an overlook onto Lake Mary. Part of the trail is on the Arizona Trail. We will meet at 7:00 am in the COC parking lot and return by 6:00 pm.

Call Pat Shaw at 981-1325 for more information.



  SMALL GROUPS

 Small Groups are a great way to grow in faith,
 practicing accountability and becoming stronger
 disciples for Christ.


Genealogy Group
...
Interested in your family roots? Always wondered if you have a hero in your lineage or a skeleton in the closet? Join us,Anyone interested in genealogy – beginners to skilled researchers welcome! Questions, contact Joan LaRose.

Holy Yoga...
Holy Yoga is the perfect way to unwind, relax, stretch and meditate on God’s word. In class you will do traditional yoga moves and poses while listening to Christian music. The instructor shares scripture during class and closes the class in prayer. You will leave feeling a greater connection to God in mind, body and spirit plus get a great physical workout as well! Class fee: donations accepted. Space is limited so come early and bring a yoga mat or towel. Meets the 2nd and 4th THURSDAY of each month at 6:00 (Room #2 in the Preschool Wing). For more info visit thier web site.

Prayer Voices...
Join us as we pray weekly. Our prayer Group “Prayer Voices”...We pray for each other, our Love of Christ family, Staff, Servant Volunteers, Missions, Ministries, Small Groups, Activities, and Events. If you are interested in attending, please contact Barbara Otto. We gather on Friday mornings from 9-11am in the Leadership center.

Book Club...

Please join us on Sunday, July 9, after the 9:00 service to discuss the following book, The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown. Here is a short synopsis about the book.

For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant.

It was an unlikely quest from the start. With a team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington’s eight-oar crew team was never expected to defeat the elite teams of the East Coast and Great Britain, yet they did, going on to shock the world by defeating the German team rowing for Adolf Hitler. The emotional heart of the tale lies with Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not only to regain his shattered self-regard but also to find a real place for himself in the world. Drawing on the boys’ own journals and vivid memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, Brown has created an unforgettable portrait of an era, a celebration of a remarkable achievement, and a chronicle of one extraordinary young man’s personal quest.

The meeting will begin after the 9:00 service in the COC nursery. We do have copies in the Book Nook for purchase. See you in July!

Pick up a cup of coffee after the 9:00 am service and join us for what will surely be a lively discussion of the characters in this book and what constitutes a family.  
If you have any questions about the Book Club please contact Barbara Hummel at or Penny Day at .

 

Questions about small groups or would like to start one up? Contact Walt at .

35093403